bible stories, Uncategorized

A Season of Thanksgiving

20131117-132100.jpg

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7

If you know anything about me, you know how much I worry. I get stress headaches from all the worrying that happens everyday. I overthink every move made, every word said, every feeling felt. Sometimes I allow that worry to bottle up into anxiety and all at once I have near full blown anxiety attacks. I think this all stems from my fear of not being good enough or doing good enough, especially within my roles as wife and mother. I worry that others are judging my parenting decisions or think I’m not living up to be the Proverbs 31 wife I strive to be.

But in those moments of clouded thinking, this verse gives me clarity. I have no reason to be worried. God wants me to trust Him with everything. And when I make requests known to Him rather than mull them over in my head obsessively, He covers me in His peace which surpasses all understanding.

Rather than feel inadequate as a wife and mother, I feel grateful that God has entrusted such a lovely family in my care. He’s blessed me with a hardworking husband and the sweetest, smiley-est baby girl you ever did lay your eyes on. When I begin to feel anxious about anything all I have to do is recall this verse and turn that anxiety into thankfulness.

What anxieties do you have? What ways can you turn them into thankfulness? What lessons do you take away from this verse?

Standard

Leave a Reply

